## Water District 29-D Meeting Minutes

March 11, 2024

Water District 29-D met on March 11, 2024 at 7 p.m. at Pocatello City Hall

**<u>Call to Order:</u>** Rich Diehl called the meeting to order at 7 p.m.

<u>Selection of meeting chairman</u>: Rich Diehl was nominated to chair the meeting. Rich Diehl was selected as the Chairman of the annual meeting.

Selection of meeting secretary: Mary Spinner was selected to serve as secretary for the annual meeting.

Approval of minutes from the 2024 annual meetings: Dianna Burden read the minutes from the 2023 annual meeting. George Chandler made a motion to approve the minutes as read. Hal Armstrong seconded the motion and the motion passed.

<u>Watermaster report for 2020:</u> Kristin Evans gave the report. She recoded 474 diversions and the total volume used was 998.3 24hr-cfs. Most of the 29D users were curtailed in 2023. Kristin's report is on file with IDWR.

<u>Treasurer report for 2023 and Proposed 2024 Budget:</u> The District stayed within the approved 2023 budget and used the allotted \$4,000 from the cash reserve. Cash reserve \$8,458 in the bank. The 2024 Proposed Budget is in the Resolutions. Total income / expenses are not to exceed \$27,500. \$1,000 in District reserves were applied to expenses, so \$26,500 will be invoiced

Dianna said they had a list of past due accounts that users could review at the meeting. A note will be put in the letters to users who have not paid their assessments that their bill will be turned over to a collection agency. Paul Kade made a motion to approve the budget, Jim Spinner seconded the motion. The motion passed with two nays. The minimum fee will remain the same this year.

Any decisions made for District 29D would not affect or be affected by District 129, which only affects groundwater users.

<u>Election of Watermaster:</u> Rich Diehl nominated Kristin Evans and Hal Armstrong seconded the nomination. Dan Bull nominated Brain Stanger and Randy Smith seconded the nomination. Kristin Evans was elected to serve as Watermaster.

<u>Election of Treasurer:</u> Rich Diehl nominated Dianna Burden for Treasurer and George Chandler seconded the motion and Dianna was elected to serve as Treasurer.

<u>Selection of Advisory Committee members:</u> Max Shafer sent notification that he was stepping down from the Advisory Committee. George Chandler nominated Jim Guthrie to serve as a Large User and Jared Evans seconded the nomination and the motion passed. The remainder of the Advisory Committee members will be retained. The Advisory Committee members for 2024 are: Jeremy Stanger, Dennis Hill, George Chandler, Jim Guthrie and Rich Diehl.

<u>IDWR Update:</u> Thomas Fortune gave the update for IDWR. Thomas addressed information of Water District 129. Measuring devices will be required on groundwater. Water District 129 will also have annual meetings. A steering committee is still needed. A water master will be needed for District 129. There was discussion on how the initial payroll will be covered.

A lot of discussion was held on water measurement and curtailment in other areas of the State. Any water rights west of Water District 1 are not subject to dictates or curtailment. Thomas said Water District 1 does take measurements on the headgates. The Twin Falls Canal Company has Senior Water Rights. Rich said there is a water board appointed by the Governor that local uses can address questions to. Rich said users can also address questions to Water District 1. Users can also talk with their local legislators.

Less than 13,000 gallons a day is exempt from measurement and curtailment for domestic and stock water use.

Thomas said the projection for this summer is probably the same as last year.

There is some legislation pending on subdivisions.

Talon Bannister stated he was interested in being on Water District 129's steering committee.

Jared Evans stated he was interested in selling his water rights.

**2025 Meeting Date:** March 10, 2025 **Adjournment of Meeting:** The meeting adjourned at 8:22 p.m.

Mary Spinner

Meeting Secretary - Prepared March 24, 2024